



Ref.: Circular BDT/DIR/107 Geneva, 28 September 2021

To:

- Administrations of ITU Member States
- ITU-D Sector Members
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of TDAG
- Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of ITU-D Study Groups 1 and 2

Subject: Candidates for chairmen and vice-chairmen of the Telecommunication Development Advisory Group (TDAG) and ITU-D study groups for 2022-2025

Dear Sir/Madam,

In accordance with <u>Resolution 208 (Dubai, 2018)</u> of the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference (PP) and <u>Resolution 61 (Rev. Dubai, 2014)</u> of the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC), in order to help WTDC appoint chairmen/vice-chairmen of the study groups and the Telecommunication Development Advisory Group (TDAG), Member States and ITU-D Sector Members are encouraged to indicate proposed candidates to the Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT).

Should your administration/organization wish to propose a candidate for a post of chairman or vice-chairman of an ITU-D study group or TDAG, or support a currently serving chairman or vice-chairman (see Annexes 1 and 2), kindly send the name and biographical profile highlighting the qualifications of the individual concerned, preferably by **28 February 2022**.

The names and CVs of candidates nominated will be posted on the website in the original language on the dedicated webpage.

Your attention is drawn to the following:

- Resolves 4 of PP Resolution 208, where it reads "that the term of office for both chairmen and vice-chairmen shall not exceed two terms of office between consecutive assemblies or conferences";
- Resolves further 2 of PP Resolution 208, where it states "that the appointment of vice-chairmen of Sector advisory groups should be limited to two candidates and of vice-chairmen of study groups to two or three candidates from each regional organization...";
- Procedure for the appointment of chairmen and vice-chairmen of the Sector advisory groups, study groups and other groups, in Annex 1 of PP Resolution 208;
- Qualifications of chairmen and vice-chairmen, in Annex 2 of PP Resolution 208;
- Guidelines for appointment of the optimum numbers of vice-chairmen for Sector advisory groups, study groups and other groups, in Annex 3 of Resolution 208, where there is mention of "...no single individual may hold more than one vice-chairmanship position in these groups in any one Sector, and only in exceptional cases hold such a position in more than one Sector".

• Clause 4.1 of <u>WTDC Resolution 1 (Rev. Buenos Aires, 2017)</u> states that "Appointment of chairmen and vice-chairmen by WTDC shall be primarily based upon proven competence both in matters considered by the study group concerned and in terms of the management skills required..."

I look forward to receiving your proposed candidatures. I would also encourage you to already start thinking about possible nominations for Rapporteurs and Vice-Rapporteurs for future Study Questions.

Yours faithfully,

[Original signed]

Doreen Bogdan-Martin Director

Annexes: Annex 1: List of chairmen and vice-chairmen of TDAG

Annex 2: List of chairmen and vice-chairmen of study groups

ANNEX 1
List of chairmen and vice-chairmen of TDAG

Chairman/ Vice-Chairmen	Name	Country	BDT Region	Eligibility for reappointment*
Chairman	Ms Roxanne McElvane Webber	United States	AMS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman (Chairman Study Group 1)	Ms Regina Fleur Assoumou Bessou	Côte d'Ivoire		Please refer to Annex 2
Vice-Chairman (Chairman Study Group 2)	Mr Ahmad Reza Sharafat	Iran (Islamic Republic of)		Please refer to Annex 2
Vice-Chairman	Mr Christopher Kipkoech Kemei	Kenya	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Abdulkarim Ayopo Oloyede	Nigeria	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Nicolás Ernesto Karavaski	Argentina	AMS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Neil Checo Valera	Dominican Republic	AMS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Al-ansari Almashakbeh	Jordan	ARB	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Tariq H Alamri	Saudi Arabia	ARB	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Kishore Babu GSC Yerraballa	India	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman		Viet Nam	ASP	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Aichurok Maralbek Kyzy	Kyrgyz Republic	CIS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Arseny Plossky	Russian Federation	CIS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Wim Rullens	Netherlands	EUR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Blanca González	Spain	EUR	<u>Eligible</u>

^{*}Not eligible: Reached maximum terms of office for this post according to Resolution 208 of the Plenipotentiary Conference (Dubai, 2018).

Eligible: Can be re-appointed for the second and last term of office for this post.

ANNEX 2

List of chairmen and vice-chairmen of study groups

Study Group 1

Chairman/ Vice-Chairmen	Name	Country	BDT Region	Eligibility for reappointment*
Chairman	Ms Regina Fleur Assoumou Bessou	Côte d'Ivoire	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Peter Ngwan Mbengie	Cameroon	AFR	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Amah Vinyo Capo	Togo	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Roberto Mitsuake Hirayama	Brazil	AMS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Víctor Antonio Martínez Sánchez	Paraguay	AMS	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Ahmed Abdel Aziz Gad	Egypt	ARB	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Ms Sameera Belal Momen Mohammad	Kuwait	ARB	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Yasuhiko Kawasumi	Japan	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Sangwon Ko	Republic of Korea	ASP	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Almaz Tilenbaev	Kyrgyzstan	CIS	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Ms Anastasia Sergeyevna Konukhova	Russian Federation	CIS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Amela Odobasic	Bosnia and Herzegovina	EUR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Vadym Kaptur	Ukraine	EUR	Not eligible

Study Group 2

Chairman/ Vice-Chairmen	Name	Country	BDT Region	Eligibility for reappointment*
Chairman	Mr Ahmad Reza Sharafat	Islamic Republic of Iran	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Roland Yaw Kudozia	Ghana	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Henry Chukwudumeme Nkemadu	Nigeria	AFR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Celina Delgado Castellón	Nicaragua	AMS	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Ms Nora Abdalla Hassan Basher	Sudan	ARB	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Abdelaziz Alzarooni	United Arab Emirates	ARB	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Ke Wang	China	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Mr Ananda Raj Khanal	Republic of Nepal	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chairman	Ms Maria Bolshakova	Russian Federation	CIS	<u>Eligible</u>

Vice-Chairman	Mr Tolibjon Oltinovich Mirzakulov	Uzbekistan	CIS	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Mr Dominique Würges	France	EUR	<u>Eligible</u>
Vice-Chairman	Ms Alina Modan	Romania	EUR	<u>Eligible</u>

^{*}Not eligible: Reached maximum terms of office for this post according to Resolution 208 of the Plenipotentiary Conference (Dubai, 2018).

Eligible: Can be re-appointed for the second and last term of office for this post.