International Telecommunication Union



Radiocommunication Bureau (Direct Fax N°. +41 22 730 57 85)

Administrative Circular CA/156 19 January 2006

To Administrations of Member States of the ITU and Radiocommunication Sector Members

Subject:	Admission of Sector Members as observers at meetings of Council - implementation
	of Resolution 109 (Marrakesh, 2002)

References: Administrative Circulars CA/134 of 14 January 2004,CA/146 of 21 December 2004 and CA/154 of 17 January 2006

1 Consistent with the directives set forth by Administrative Circular <u>CA/146</u> and in accordance to the provisions outlined in Annex A of Council Decision **519**, the ITU-R Sector Member Observers to Council 2006 would need to be selected. For this purpose, RAG, at its thirteenth meeting (31 October-4 November 2005), agreed that the RAG Chairman, in consultation with the RAG Vice-Chairmen, apply the criteria of Decision **519**, taking into account the interest of the two organizations, which applied for Council 2005 but could not be selected, namely The Boeing Company and Satélites Mexicanos, S.A. de C.V. (SATMEX).

2 In accordance with the advice from the RAG, I am pleased to request the interested Sector Members to submit the relevant candidatures to the Bureau by **24 February 2006**, at the latest. The candidatures received will be submitted to the RAG Chairman, for evaluation and selection. After the necessary consultations with the Directors of the two other Bureaux, the nominated Sector Member will be informed accordingly and will be notified to the Council Secretariat. 3 The Bureau remains at the disposal of the membership for any further clarification that may be required with respect to the subjects treated in this Administrative Circular.

Valery Timofeev Director, Radiocommunication Bureau

Distribution:

- Administrations of Member States of the ITU
- Radiocommunication Sector Members
- Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Radiocommunication Study Groups and Special Committee on Regulatory/Procedural Matters
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Radiocommunication Advisory Group
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Conference Preparatory Meeting
- Members of the Radio Regulations Board
- Secretary-General of the ITU, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau