International Telecommunication Union



Radiocommunication Bureau (Direct Fax N°. +41 22 730 57 85)

Administrative Circular CACE/356

18 July 2005

To Administrations of Member States of the ITU and Radiocommunication Sector Members participating in the work of the Radiocommunication Study Groups and the Special Committee on Regulatory/Procedural Matters

Subject: Chairmanship of Radiocommunication Study Group 1

The Radiocommunication Bureau has been informed by the Administration of the UK of the resignation of Mr. Terry Jeacock as Chairman of ITU-R Study Group 1. I wish to take this opportunity to acknowledge the significant contribution that Mr. Jeacock has made to the work and achievements of Study Group 1, both as Chairman and as one of the former Vice-Chairmen.

In taking steps towards his replacement, I would draw your attention to Annex 1 of Resolution ITU-R 15-3. In accordance with this text, and taking into account that there is no "longest serving Vice-Chairman", it would be appropriate for the functions to be undertaken by one of the current Vice-Chairmen as agreed by consultation between the Vice-Chairmen and the Director. Once having been appointed *ad interim*, it would be for the next meeting of Study Group 1 to formally elect a new Chairman in accordance with No. 244 of the Convention.

As a result of consultations that have taken place with the Vice-Chairmen of Study Group 1, I have pleasure in informing you that it has been agreed that the Vice-Chairman, Mr. Robin Haines of the Administration of the USA, take over the responsibilities of chairmanship for the period leading up to the next meeting of Study Group 1 in October 2005. It will then be for the Study Group to elect a new Chairman in accordance with CV 244. The newly elected Chairman will remain in office until the next Radiocommunication Assembly.

Valery Timofeev Director, Radiocommunication Bureau

Distribution:

- Administrations of Member States and Radiocommunication Sector Members
- ITU-R Associates participating in the work of Radiocommunication Study Group 1
- Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Radiocommunication Study Groups and the Special Committee on Regulatory/Procedural Matters
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Conference Preparatory Meeting
- Members of the Radio Regulations Board
- Secretary-General of the ITU, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau

Place des Nations CH-1211 Geneva 20 Switzerland Telephone +41 22 730 51 11 Telefax Gr3: +41 22 733 72 56 Gr4: +41 22 730 65 00 Telex 421 000 uit ch Telegram ITU GENEVE