ITU-T Kaleidoscope Conference Innovations in NGN

Best paper awards



Objectives

- Increase the dialogue between academia and experts working on the standardization of ICTs
- Identify visionary ideas on the future of NGN through a kaleidoscopic view of communication habits for the future, which can eventually lead to new topics for standardization. We know what NGN is in terms of the underlying technology, but we don't know what services will emerge, how NGN will affect the marketplace for ICT, and how society will be affected
- Highlight technologies, services and applications five years and beyond that will capitalize on the NGN infrastructure and lead to the ubiquitous network society in which information can be accessed anywhere and anytime by anyone and anything

Address multidisciplinary aspects related to the deployment of NGN, including analysis of regulatory and societal challenges

Nine nominees

- Best ranking papers that were recommended for best paper award (double-blind review) and received no rejection recommendations
- Nine candidates
 - Oops, EIGHT, as one was not able to attend
- Award committee
 - Five distinguished conference attendees

Award committee

- Pierre-André Probst (OFCOM, Switzerland) probst-pa@bluewin.ch
- Mostafa Hashem Sherif (AT&T, USA) <u>mhs@hogpb.mt.att.com</u>
- Ken Krechmer (University of Colorado, USA) <u>krechmer@csrstds.com</u>
- Tineke Egyedi (Delft University, The Netherlands) <u>T.M.Egyedi@tudelft.nl</u>
- Marcel Schneider (SWITCH, Switzerland) <u>schneider@switch.ch</u>

Nominees (1/2)

Open API standardisation for the NGN platform

- Catherine Mulligan
- Advanced optical modulators with hybrid configuration of silica-based PLC and LiNbO3 phaseshifter array for ultra-high-speed transport networks
 - Hiroshi Yamazaki, Takashi Yamada; Yohei Sakamaki; Akimasa Kaneko; Akihide Sano; Hirohji Masuda; Yutaka Miyamoto
- Differential phase shift quantum key distribution
 - Hiroki Takesue; Toshimori Honjo; Kiyoshi Tamaki; Yasuhiro Tokura
- A user-centric service creation approach for next generation networks
 - Juan Carlos Yelmo; José María Del Álamo; Rubén Trapero; Paolo Falcarin; Jian Yu; Carlos Baladrón; Belen Carro

Nominees (2/2)

- Architecture for broadband and mobile VPN over NGN
 - Masahisa Kawashima; Shintaro Mizuno; Junya Kato
- Strategic Innovations through NGN standardisation for a ubiquitous consumer wireless world
 - Mairtin O'Droma, Ivan Ganchev
- ICT standardisation Co-ordinating the diversity
 - Kai Jakobs
- Architecture and business model of open heterogeneous mobile network
 - Yoshitoshi Murata; Mikio Hasegawa; Homare Murakami; Hiroshi Harada; Shuzo Kato

And the winners are...

Third prize

- Open API standardisation for the NGN platform
 - Catherine Mulligan

Second prize

- Differential phase shift quantum key distribution
 - Hiroki Takesue; Toshimori Honjo; Kiyoshi Tamaki; Yasuhiro Tokura

First prize

- Architecture and business model of open heterogeneous mobile network
 - Yoshitoshi Murata; Mikio Hasegawa; Homare Murakami; Hiroshi Harada; Shuzo Kato

Congratulations!!!