About ITU

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is the specialized United Nations agency for information and communication technologies (ICTs), driving innovation in ICTs together with 193 Member States and a membership of over 900 companies, universities, and international and regional organizations.

ITU is the intergovernmental body responsible for coordinating the shared global use of the radio spectrum, promoting international cooperation in assigning satellite orbits, improving communication infrastructure in the developing world, and establishing the worldwide standards that foster seamless interconnection of a vast range of communications systems.


ITU Membership

ITU has three Sectors: Radiocommunication (ITU-R); Telecommunication Standardization (ITU-T); and Telecommunication Development (ITU-D). Each Sector has its own unique characteristics and activities. Companies or organizations may become a member of one or more Sectors of ITU and may join as a Sector Member or Associate.

ITU Sectors



ITU Radiocommunication Sector

Plays a vital role in the global management of the radio-frequency spectrum and satellite orbit resources, and develops international standards for radiocommunication systems.

Learn More


ITU Standardization Sector

Assembles experts from around the world to develop international standards known as ITU-T recommendations, which act as defining elements of the global infrastructure of information and communication technologies.

Learn More
Card image


ITU Development Sector

Strives to spread equitable and affordable access to telecommunications, as a means of stimulating broader social and economic development.

Learn More

Become a Member

Make an impact on global decisions that affect your business and the future of technologies

Apply Now

Meet our 900+ members

Discover our unique membership community, connecting over 20,000 tech leaders and experts

ITU Members